Two Noob Questions!

Something not working as it should? We can help you....
Post Reply
extracampine
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:40 pm

Two Noob Questions!

Post by extracampine » Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:47 pm

QP looks great! But I'm struggling to get started with it.

I imported a bunch of ROMS, selected the system as Ninendo NES and named the folder in the roms list Nintendo NES. Two questions:

1. It doesn't populate the game details data such as year, company etc. How do I get it to do this?

2. I tried to set up media paths for this system. A whole bunch of tabs are already selected, but there are no tabs showing in the media window. Perhaps I need to add some media for the tabs to show, I thought. So I added the directory for the front box art ("box"), and clicked OK. Nothig happened media windows is still blank with no art and indeed no tabs.

Any advice appreciated! The screenshots of this app look great but I'm a long way off yet!
User avatar
butter100fly
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am

Re: Two Noob Questions!

Post by butter100fly » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:05 pm

Hi there welcome to the forums

Here are a couple of links to the respective pages on the wiki. Do these help? On (2) it sounds like you're doing it right so maybe the naming of your files doesn't match the naming of the rom and the search type you've selected. Try calling a single screenshot in that folder *exactly* the same as the game name (apart from the file extension of course) - does it work then?

1. It doesn't populate the game details data such as year, company etc. How do I get it to do this?
http://quickplay.sourceforge.net/wiki/i ... /Systemini

2. I tried to set up media paths for this system. A whole bunch of tabs are already selected, but there are no tabs showing in the media window. Perhaps I need to add some media for the tabs to show, I thought. So I added the directory for the front box art ("box"), and clicked OK. Nothig happened media windows is still blank with no art and indeed no tabs.
http://quickplay.sourceforge.net/wiki/i ... edia_Panel
extracampine
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:40 pm

Re: Two Noob Questions!

Post by extracampine » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:36 pm

Thanks for the info butterfly.

Regarding populating the game metadata, I will try the method you point towards by using the system ini files to fill in the game information. The list of systems supported however looks quite limited, and doesn't include MAME - is this correct?

Regarding point 2 and the media tabs, should the tabs show even if there is no media to populate them? Will look into the naming issue further.
extracampine
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:40 pm

Re: Two Noob Questions!

Post by extracampine » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:55 pm

Also, I tried the Romdata Magician. When I open it, I get an error message something to do with no emulator having been selected for the system. Anyway, after clicking OK it opens up with a window at the top for what looks like a list of ROMs/games. The list is empty however. At the bottom I can select my system from the drop down menu (I have only NES set up so far so select that). I then click GO, and after less than a second it says finished. When I close the Romdata window however, the list of NES games is still the same with no metadata added.

Any help appreciated!
User avatar
butter100fly
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am

Re: Two Noob Questions!

Post by butter100fly » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:29 pm

Setting up MAME via the 'Arcade Roms" menu fills in loads of metadata to your romdata lines for all games automatically for MAME's arcade, console and home computer systems, and you can also setup the mame dat files to come up in the media panel.
http://quickplay.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/MAME
http://quickplay.sourceforge.net/wiki/i ... _DAT_SETUP
http://quickplay.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/MESS

But your nes games aren't part of MAME right? So to accumulate and lookup data about random roms is a totally different thing....so on romdata magician: what NES game set are you using? how are the files named? Do they run up in quickplay? when you select your NES set in romdata magician, what happens? does romdata magician populate its main window with your roms? Are you able to post pictures here on the forum of the problems you're having? (i'd particularly like to see that error message you got when opening romdata magician) :D If you have NES games that Romdata Magician knows the name of, what should happen is you press GO and your list of games in Romdata Magician (which should be the same list QuickPlay is showing) populates with the metadata you selected. (It matches them up by looking up the system name, then the rom name, its its store of metadata files). You then select to save the results back to your romdata file.
Post Reply