Quick Play and PCE CD games

Something not working as it should? We can help you....
jaw970
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:21 pm

Quick Play and PCE CD games

Postby jaw970 » Sat Oct 15, 2016 1:54 pm

Hello,

I am using Ootake and Magic Engine along with DaemonTools 4.x How do I get a PCE CD game (any game) to auto load with either Ootake or Magic Engine? The games I am using are in BIN+CUE format. I remember that there's a certain command that you have to use for Magic Engine in the (can't remember the setup for this emulator though)

The goal is to use Quick Play, one of these emulators for PCE CD and have the games auto play.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Jason
User avatar
butter100fly
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am

Re: Quick Play and PCE CD games

Postby butter100fly » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:17 am

Hey

I've never used Ootake - but there is a Multiloader for Magic Engine (the multiloader takes care of cd and dvd and zip mounting). So you should just need to:
1) make sure an efind finds the magic engine emulator - 'pce.exe'
2) in the Efind results window select to add the multiloader for it - its called "Magic Engine QP Multiloader"
3) if you've got the lastest deamon tools that's pretty much it - it will mount you image if it can and pass the flag "-cd" to magic engine when it loads

Theres also a multiloader for Mednafen PC Engine, RetroArch's PC Engine, and MESS's PC Engine in case you have .chd images.

If you can tell me what command-line parameters you have to use in Ootake to have to manually load from CD, I can add a multiloader for Ootake in the next release
jaw970
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Quick Play and PCE CD games

Postby jaw970 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:30 pm

Thanks Butter100fly. I am using mednafen to play PCE and PCE CD games. No need for Daemontools on any mounting program as mednafen loads ISO's and BIN+CUE's without mounting them.
User avatar
butter100fly
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am

Re: Quick Play and PCE CD games

Postby butter100fly » Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:08 am

sure. I also mount directly sometimes, i'm getting lazier these days, but the advice is generally to try to avoid it as there are loads of considerations for mounting disc images that are best contained in a single tool like daemon tools rather than spread out and duplicated across emulators - I think its still generally true to say that using daemon tools will always get you more working games than using any emulator's disc image support....see the forums of epsxe for instance.....

Return to “Quickplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest