Hello. Found a possible bug using QuickPlay 4.7.6:
- Open QuickPlay
- Launch a game
- QuickPlay will minimize to taskbar (expected behavior)
- Close game
- QuickPlay stays minimized to the taskbar (no way to maximize it again). I have to right-click and close QuickPlay and launch it again
Thank you,
Jason
QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
- butter100fly
- Posts: 278
- Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
Yes I can reproduce the issue, it doesn't happen on the previous release. How strange. Perhpaps 'use old minimise style' might help you for now if you need this feature? And what happens that is not good if you leave the feature off/unticked?
- butter100fly
- Posts: 278
- Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
Found the problem, one issue with Delphi is its VERY easy to inadvertently move a UI element whilst navigating for development, and doing that just once to QuickPlay's main window had caused three sets of these to appear in various places in the main form:
- ExplicitLeft = 0
- ExplicitTop = 0
- ExplicitWidth = 0
- ExplicitHeight = 0
Fortunately I had a compile I'd taken just 2 days before release and noticed that didn't have the issue, so it was very easy to do a diff and find. Otherwise this would have been painful!
Somehow, this was preventing re-maximise. Fixed now so thanks for that, but you'll have to wait till the next release - hopefully disabling or using old minimise for a while works for you?
- ExplicitLeft = 0
- ExplicitTop = 0
- ExplicitWidth = 0
- ExplicitHeight = 0
Fortunately I had a compile I'd taken just 2 days before release and noticed that didn't have the issue, so it was very easy to do a diff and find. Otherwise this would have been painful!
Somehow, this was preventing re-maximise. Fixed now so thanks for that, but you'll have to wait till the next release - hopefully disabling or using old minimise for a while works for you?
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
Thanks butter100fly. I'm glad it was a quick spot and fairly easy solution.
Using the old minimize works just fine so no rush to implement a fix for this. I do appreciate you fixing this and continuing to work on QuickPlay.
Jason
Using the old minimize works just fine so no rush to implement a fix for this. I do appreciate you fixing this and continuing to work on QuickPlay.
Jason
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
Hey butter100fly,
Very strange - All of the sudden, QuickPlay is now working correctly when closing out a game. Not sure what happened or if a Windows update resolved the issue but now I am able to exit back to a maximized QuickPlay when closing a game. I am using the same QuickPlay version that I was using when reporting the bug. Verified that I am not using the 'old minimized style" option.
Not sure what resolved this but I wanted you aware that the issue was resolved, at least for me, even though no changes were made. I have no idea what happened.
The only thing I can think of that changed was that I did select the old minimized style, closed QuickPlay, reopened QuickPlay and removed the option. Maybe using the old style and removing the option made a change to QuickPlay? Very weird.
Jason
Very strange - All of the sudden, QuickPlay is now working correctly when closing out a game. Not sure what happened or if a Windows update resolved the issue but now I am able to exit back to a maximized QuickPlay when closing a game. I am using the same QuickPlay version that I was using when reporting the bug. Verified that I am not using the 'old minimized style" option.
Not sure what resolved this but I wanted you aware that the issue was resolved, at least for me, even though no changes were made. I have no idea what happened.
The only thing I can think of that changed was that I did select the old minimized style, closed QuickPlay, reopened QuickPlay and removed the option. Maybe using the old style and removing the option made a change to QuickPlay? Very weird.
Jason
- butter100fly
- Posts: 278
- Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
I think that once you alter the screen properties of the QuickPlay window in some way, this might nullifiy those three explicit setting sets. What happens if you download QP4.7.6 again in a test folder, set to minimise on launch, setup for a launch and then launch - the problem returns?
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
- Downloaded Quickplay 4.7.6
- unzipped to QPTEST directory
- Setup a few test games for different systems
- Set option to minimize at launch
- All tests performed as expected (returned to maximized screen)
Seems to be resolved now. I'm perplexed. lol
- unzipped to QPTEST directory
- Setup a few test games for different systems
- Set option to minimize at launch
- All tests performed as expected (returned to maximized screen)
Seems to be resolved now. I'm perplexed. lol
- butter100fly
- Posts: 278
- Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:13 am
Re: QuickPlay 4.7.6 - possible bug
me too in that case! I definitely reproduced your problem, and it was definitely resolved upon compiling my fix (when all other variables remained the same), let me know if it reccurs!